ITHACA, N.Y. — Early voting began in Tompkins County on Saturday, June 13.

With the approval of the New York State Early Voting Act last year, this is the second year that this option has been made available to residents. Those who are registered to vote in New York State, are residents of Tompkins County, and enrolled in a party holding a primary election, are eligible to vote in early voting, according to County website

However, early voting is not held at a voters’ regular polling place. Tompkins County’s early voting program has two designated locations that voters can visit to cast their vote during this period. A downtown location at Ithaca Town Hall, 215 N. Tioga Street and at the Tompkins County Crash, Fire, Rescue Building at 72 Brown Road.

To enter the polling locations, voters are required to wear a mask and if they do not have one already, they will be provided with one, according to the Democratic Commissioner Stephen DeWitt. Voters will also be provided hand sanitizer, which is required to be used upon entrance, and clear single-use gloves that they voters may choose to use while handling objects such as pens.  

This option of early voting will be available until Sunday, June 21. Specific dates and times are listed below. 

  • Monday, June 15, from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 16, from 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 17, from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 18, from 12:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Friday, June 19, from 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 20, from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 21, from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Voters will be able to cast their vote at their regular polling place on primary election day, June 23. Due to COVID-19, all voters are able to request absentee ballots.

For more information regarding early voting and absentee ballots, visit the Tompkins County Board of Elections website or call the Board of Elections at (607) 274-5522