ITHACA, N.Y. –– On Monday, the Tompkins County Democratic Committee is hosting an election forum for voters to meet the Democratic candidates running for office this November.

The candidates are running for NY Supreme Court, County Judge, Alderperson and Mayor. While not guaranteed to be at the forum, the candidates for those offices are as follows.

For State Supreme Court in the 6th Judicial District: Pete Charnetsky and Claudette Newman

For County Judge: Scott Miller

For Mayor: Svante Myrick

For Alderperson: First Ward-George McGonigal, Second Ward-Ducson Nguyen, Third Ward-Rob Gearhart, Fourth Ward-Stephen Smith, Fifth Ward-Laura Lewis

The forum will take place in the Borg Warner Room of the Tompkins County Public Library located at 101 E Green Street, Ithaca on Monday Oct. 28 from 7:30 p.m. to 9 p.m.

There will also be information available on early voting. Earlier this year, the New York State Early Voting Act was approved, giving New Yorkers who might not be able to make it to their polling place on election day more time and flexibility to cast their ballots.

Election day is Tuesday, Nov. 5. If you’re not sure how to vote you can find out here.

Early voting will take place at Ithaca Town Hall, 215 N. Tioga St., Ithaca and at the Tompkins County Crash, Fire, Rescue Building, 72 Brown Rd., Ithaca.

They will be open from Saturday, Oct. 26 through Sunday, Nov. 3, at the following hours and days:

  • 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 26
  • 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 27
  • 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday, Oct. 28
  • Noon to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Oct. 29
  • 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 30
  • Noon to 8 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 31
  • 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. Friday, Nov. 1
  • 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2
  • 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 3

To find out more about early voting you can go to the Tompkins County Board of Elections website.

Anna Lamb

Anna Lamb is a reporter for the Ithaca Voice. Questions? Story tips? Contact her at alamb@ithacavoice.com