This is a community announcement from the Ithaca Public Education Initiative. It was not written by The Ithaca Voice. To submit news releases, email

Last week the Ithaca Public Education Initiative (IPEI) partnered with Ithaca High School (IHS) during its two awards ceremonies to present awards recognizing achievement in the arts, sciences and school community.

IPEI is proud to maintain the IHS Senior Class Fund, initiated in 2004, which produces three annual awards identified by the Senior class: the New Teacher Award, given to an untenured teacher who is showing distinction as a teacher, the Student Organization Award, which recognizes a student group or club which positively supports the school community, and the Staff Award, which recognizes a IHS staff member who has made the greatest impact on the students.

IPEI is also honored to steward several other investment funds (‘Special Funds’) which have been created in honor of a person’s life and present annual awards to students in their name.

Erin Mangus receives the Carol Buckley Award. (Photo courtesy of ICSD Communications)

Two awards were presented for the first time this year:

The IHS Class of ’68 Scholarship will be presented to an outstanding student who displays the spirit of social change prevalent during the class’ time at IHS and looks to use their skills in service.

The Imaan Grewal Scholarship will be presented in honor of Imaan, an IHS alum who passed away suddenly in recognition of a student who demonstrates affection, amiability, positive spirit, and compassion, and plans to pursue education in healthcare.

Davina Barrett receives the Noreen Moore award. (Photo courtesy of ICSD Communications)

The Carol Buckley Award is presented in honor of Carol’s life as a passionate performer to one or more seniors who exhibit promise in the arts and who intend to pursue post-secondary education to continue developing their talents.

The Noreen Moore Award is presented in memory of Noreen, an active member of the ICSD staff and community, to an IHS student who has the potential and desire to make the world an amazing place.

The Raymond Loehr Award, created in honor of the life of Ray, an educator at Cornell University, recognizes a student who has shown excellence in science.

The Yan Wang ’05 Memorial Scholarship, presented in honors of Yan’s life and memory, is presented to a student who has shown outstanding dedication to Code Red Robotics or another STEM program.

The Fine Arts Booster Group, an affiliate of IPEI, presented the Lee Strebel Award. This award is presented each year to an IHS student who has not only participated in performing arts at the high school level but has shown extraordinary spirit in that pursuit.

During this week’s underclass and senior award ceremonies (June 4 and June 6), awards were presented to:

IHS Senior Class Awards

New Teacher Award: Matthew Prokosch
Staff Member Award: Marilyn Sgrecci
IHS Club Award: The Green Team

These individuals and organizations received a cash award, and have gifts made in their honor to the Ithaca High School library, as well as have their names displayed on a plaque in the library.

Irena Rosenberg receives the Imaan Grewal Scholarship. (Photo courtesy of ICSD Communications)

Special Funds Awards

*Class of ’68: Nano Win
*Imaan Grewal Scholarship: Irena Rosenberg
Carol Buckley Award: Erin Magnus
Noreen Moore: Davina Barrett
Raymond Loehr (Student) Award: Rotem Leshed
Yan Wang ’05 Memorial: Nick Wright

*Inaugural year of the award.

Featured image: The Student Organization Award goes to the Green Team. (Courtesy of ICSD Communications)

Community Announcements

This article was submitted on behalf of a person or organization in Tompkins County. The Ithaca Voice posts community announcements to provide readers with information directly from local businesses and...