ITHACA, N.Y. — A Caroline Elementary Teacher has been recognized for her innovative work getting kids interested in science.

Fourth grade teacher Anna Chapman received the Raymond C. Loehr Innovative Science Teaching Award on Tuesday. The award was presented by Steven Manley, executive director of the Ithaca Public Education Initiative and Dr. Jamie Loehr.

Anna Chapman. Photo by Andrew Noyes
Anna Chapman. Photo by Andrew Noyes

Chapman has worked in Caroline since 2011. She created and leads the Caroline STEM Club.

In a news release, Mary Grover, principal of Caroline Elementary, said she nominated Chapman because she “puts students at the center of their learning experience. Students’ curiosity and desire to learn are continuously celebrated as students come to understand they are the ‘drivers’ of their learning. Anna’s leadership supports inclusion and innovation that mirrors the importance of a diverse and healthy ecosystem where all are needed.”

As part of the Caroline STEM Club that Chapman founded, students built rockets, took part in egg drop competitions and made water boats, the news release said.

IPEI manages the Raymond C. Loehr Innovative Science Teaching Fund, which was established by the Loehr family to honor their father’s 70th birthday and recognize his commitment to teaching. The Raymond C. Loehr Award for Excellence in Science Teaching goes to a faculty member in the Ithaca City School District every year to instructors who use innovative teaching methods to foster interest in the sciences.

Featured photos provided by Andrew Noyes. 

Kelsey O'Connor

Kelsey O'Connor is the managing editor for the Ithaca Voice. Questions? Story tips? Contact her at and follow her on Twitter @bykelseyoconnor.