The following is a republished press release from a community organization or member and NOT written by the Ithaca Voice … to submit community announcements to The Voice, contact us at

[do_widget id= text-55 ]

ITHACA, NY—Democracy Now! host and executive producer Amy Goodman will be welcomed into the I.F. Stone Hall of Fame at Ithaca College on Wednesday, April 6. Joining her for the 7 p.m. ceremony in Park Hall Auditorium will be the winners of the eighth annual Izzy Award for outstanding achievement in independent media. The award ceremony is free and open to the public.

Presented by the Park Center for Independent Media (PCIM), the Izzy Award is named in honor of the late I.F. “Izzy” Stone, the dissident journalist who launched I.F. Stone’s Weekly in 1953 and challenged McCarthyism, the Vietnam War, racial injustice and government deceit.

In a year full of exceptional journalism from non-corporate outlets, the Izzy Award judges are honoring the nonprofit news organization Inside Climate News for its series “Exxon: The Road Not Taken” and independent journalists Jamie Kalven and Brandon Smith for exposing the official cover-up of the killing of 17-year-old Laquan McDonald in Chicago.

Read more about the winners and their work here.

Amy Goodman will enter the I.F. Stone Hall of Fame, an occasional honor reserved for those who have already won the Izzy Award and who continue to produce journalism that would earn them the award again and again.

“Amy Goodman’s tenacious reporting day after day and year after year has made her one of the premier journalists of our era,” said Jeff Cohen, PCIM director and Izzy Award judge. “She is also peerless in showcasing the topnotch journalism of others.”

Goodman shared the first Izzy Award in 2009 with Glenn Greenwald. Subsequent Izzy winners have been Naomi Klein, David Sirota, John Carlos Frey, Nick Turse, Mother Jones, Sharif Abdel Kouddous, Center for Media and Democracy/“ALEC Exposed,” Robert Scheer, City Limits and Jeremy Scahill.

Goodman joins prior hall of fame inductees Greenwald and Scahill.

Based in the Roy H. Park School of Communications at Ithaca College, the Park Center for Independent Media is a national center for the study of media outlets that create and distribute content outside traditional corporate systems. For more information, visit or contact Jeff Cohen at

(Featured photo courtesy of Democracy Now! Facebook page)

[do_widget id= text-61 ]

Michael Smith

Michael Smith reports on politics and local news for the Ithaca Voice. He can be reached via email at, by cell at (607) 229-0885, or via Google Voice at (518) 650-3639.